PDA

View Full Version : Can I get RE-Reconstruction being Stage 4?

julierene
03-21-2006, 09:54 AM
I have bilateral saline implants, and one of them has been EXTREMELY tight since I got it. It's painful, and probably has capsular contraction.

I have wanted the DIEP flap reconstruction since I found out about it because I have children aged 2,5 and 6. But being Stage 4, I am worried they won't cover it or something.

How do I ask?

Lolly
03-21-2006, 10:25 AM
I'm NOT an insurance expert, and insurance coverage varies from one plan to another, but my first thought would be that you have to start a dialog with your primary care physician about this; the focus should be that it's a HEALTH related issue rather than a cosmetic issue. So you have to have your PCP begin documenting how this is adversly affecting your health, then hopefully you'll get a referral to a plastic surgeon and they usually take up the pre-authorization issue with your insurance.
I know someone who badly needed breast reduction due to very large breasts which were causing back aches and posture problems, and that's how the process went for her. Her insurance covered everything but the process took about a year.

Hope this helps,
<3 Lolly

julierene
03-21-2006, 10:37 AM
I've complained over and over to my plastic surgeon, and he wants me to wait as long as possible. I think he doesn't feel like any reconstruction will go well because he doesn't offer DIEP flap reconstruction. I don't know, maybe he's worried about the lack of lymph nodes.

The main problem is my right breast implant is PAINFUL! I wouldn't even bother with wanting another surgery if it didn't HURT all the time!

My surgeon though, recommended I take Advil all the time. My Onc doesn't want me to take anything but Tylenol.

Sheila
03-21-2006, 01:25 PM
Julie