PDA

View Full Version : new to this

les
02-06-2005, 08:57 PM
Hi I'm new to this so please excuse my mistakes. I was treated for breast cancer 1.3cm tumor her2 pos er pos no nodes lumpectomy .a/c chemoand radiation now the only treatment is tamoxifen for 5 years. I had a clean mamogram at 3 months now looking to have another in march. My dr. isn't doing blood test or any scans should i ask for tests? I'mworried because the onclogist told me I looked great what does that mean I looked great when they told me I had B C too. I'm wondering what I should ask for? help I 'm not feeling very well my energy isn't coming back and my DR.s don't seem to care I.m only 47.

Kristen
02-06-2005, 09:58 PM
Les,
Unfortunately, ASCO, doesn't recommend any other scans to be run, unless you are symptomatic.
I talked my Onc into at least running Tumor Markers every 3 months when I see her with my blood tests. It may not help, but it gives me peace of mind. My breast surgeon, however does run a mam every 6 months and my nerurologist does a MRI every 6 months of the brain. They should be at least doing a chest x-ray once/year. Between the 3 of them, I see them every 3 months and they are scattered. I had Herceptin, so I did have Muga scans.
The hard part is trusting your body to tell you that something is wrong. I looked and felt fine also at dx. I look great now, but it is scary to be out there all alone sometimes. There is some comfort in going to treatment, I felt that as long as I was there I was safe. The advice that was given to me, is that the longer you NED, the less you will think about it. Now, it probably goes through your mind every minute or so and with time, it will be farther in between times.
The other part of this, is what does the new normal feel like? I have no idea. I will be seeing my onc in March also, for my first follow up.
What I have been told, anything that is bothering you for over 2 weeks should be seen by your onc.