PDA

View Full Version : Survival

Mickey
01-03-2005, 01:38 PM
I am new to stage IV and it is a club for which I would prefer not to be a member. One of the scariest statistics for me is the one that I have heard that only 10% of stage IV survive 5 years. Yet, I hear so many of you who seem to have gone much longer. Where does this statistic come from and where is my hope for longer that 5 years?
Mickey

Sheila
01-03-2005, 05:48 PM
Mickey
None of us want to be in this category, and we are all fighters on this board! You can get encouragement form many here....you are reading a statistic...and that is all it is...I will never give in...I'll go down fighting...I plan to go and beat the statistics...all of us do. If we all believed in statistics, we all might as well give up.....never quit fighting!
Hugs
Sheila

Jackie
01-03-2005, 06:25 PM
Mickey, I think it's a waste of time to worry about statistics like that! When was the last time the study was updated to include all of the new drugs available today? Over expression of the her2 gene was considered to be a life shortening condition, even within the breast cancer "family", but that has recently changed due to progress on the medical front, thankfully. There are many drugs available and many yet to come. I want a lot of information about my disease, but statistics are not included in that search!! I want explanations and hope for my future....and this is the place to get both!
Best of luck to you,
Jackie

Jackie
01-03-2005, 07:23 PM
Whoops! Forgot to add that I will PASS my 5 yr anniversary of original dx in 2005.....

imported_Joe
01-03-2005, 09:26 PM
5 Years is not a magic number, but is usually the number of years that investigators do follow up studies on patients who have completed clinical trials.

This website has many members who have passed the 5 year mark after being diagnosed as stage IV.

Regards
Joe

Lolly
01-04-2005, 10:17 AM