PDA

View Full Version : Clinical Trials for Herceptin/Non-Metastatic Breast Cancer

Vicki Zimmerman
04-29-2004, 02:35 AM
Hi Everyone

I'm new to the message board and am interested in clinical trials for node-negative women who are her2-new positive. I am currently completing my fifth session of chemo (FAC) out of six and would like to begin taking Taxol and Herceptin. I live in Southern Calif. and know of one physician who recommended it however I opted to stay with the hospital where my surgery was done (UCIMC)and they stuck with a conservative protocol. Any comments about where I can hook up with a trial that meets my requirements? Thanks. Vicki

Judy Silliman
05-10-2004, 02:54 PM
I was dx. 1/18/02 and follwing a MRM of my right breast entered the BCRIG 006 Clinical trial. My chemotherapy was carboplatin and taxotere with weekly infusions of Herceptin and every 3 weeks for the chemo. Once chemo was completed I then received triple dose of Herceptin every three weeks for the remaining eight months completeing treatmentin May 2003. I have been NED. Every aspect of my tumor was poor Grade 3 ER/PR neg her2 +++. I am doing quite well. All my hair has grown back I'm feeling good. I also received radiation. I actually had 6 tumors identified in one breast with DCIS as well. The prognosis was grim even with 1 lymph node involved. But hey the disease has no rules. I'm doing great and you will too. Keep the faith.

Vicki Z
05-25-2004, 08:27 AM
Hi Judy

Thanks for your comments. I'm new to this and was wondering what MRM is? Mastectomy of the Right breast?

I posted the following (see below) and have decided to go ahead with the new chemo cocktail because while I am node negative I feel taking herceptin at this earlier stage is important. my tumor markers are very similar to yours and I'm amazed at how aggressive her2 can be. I know some women who were node neg. decided to not take herceptin and are doing quite well but I don't want to revisit this again.